Your Voice In Life's Uncertain Times

Understanding Wisconsin’s marijuana laws

| Aug 3, 2018 | Criminal Defense |

Many people are likely aware that in many states, marijuana has been legalized. This substance is still illegal in Wisconsin, however, so it is important for people to understand the penalties of possessing marijuana.

According to NORML.org, Wisconsin law considers marijuana to be a Schedule 1 hallucinogenic substance. The first time someone is caught with marijuana, he or she may need to pay a $1,000 fine and be imprisoned for six months. This first incident is typically considered a misdemeanor. If people are found with this substance again, the fine can reach up to $10,000. Further cases of marijuana possession are usually considered felonies and some people may find they face a prison sentence of up to three and a half years. Growing marijuana also carries a stiff penalty. This offense is usually a felony and the length of imprisonment generally depends on how many plants a person cultivated. If someone grew four plants, he or she may be imprisoned for three and a half years. People who grow between 20 and 50 plants typically face a 10-year jail sentence, while someone may be imprisoned for up to 15 years if he cultivated 200 or more plants. People who grow marijuana may also need to pay a fine. This usually ranges from $10,000 to $50,000.

Additionally, selling and delivering this substance is considered a felony. People who sell fewer than 200 grams of marijuana may need to pay a $10,000 fine. The amount of the fine usually increases with the amount of marijuana a person sells. People selling this substance may also face a jail sentence that can range from 3.5 to 15 years. 

Some people may be surprised to learn that medical marijuana is legal in Wisconsin. According to Americans for Safe Access, people can use medical marijuana if they have a seizure disorder and a letter from their doctor. These patients typically cannot have any kind of marijuana with a psychoactive effect. However, the state’s medical marijuana law does not offer legal protection for caregivers and those involved in growing and dispensing this substance.